*Click* *Click* : My Nikon Cameras

I currently have two cameras in my possession. One is my Digital SLR, a Nikon D40. The other is my dad’s SLR, a Nikon F2 (the one in the picture).

I tried the F2 back in the Philippines and loved messing around with the shutter speed and aperture even if I didn’t know what they did exactly or what their purpose is. I basically thought: aperture = amount of light allowed in, shutter speed =  speed of clicky sound when I press the button. Therefore: wide opening (aperture) + fast clicky speed (shutter speed) = bright/light pictures and the opposite would be dark.

…I also had a handy dandy guide which I will post when I find it. My family also have two point and shoot digital cameras. Both Canon. Hihi.

I bought my Nikon D40 sometime around my March I think… I’ve actually wanted a DSLR for a while but finally made the decision after seeing the works of Tricia Gostingtian, Zhang Jingna (zemotion) and Isobel Funk (my cousin ^^v). That and having film developed here costs a lot of money XD

Before I made the choice to get the D40, my other choices were the Canon Rebel XTi or XSi. The Nikon won over the Canons because:

1. It was cheaper.

I’m a beginner so a simple camera would do for me. It’s also light and easy to carry around which makes it good for outdoor photography. A number of my first photos with it were flowers during the beginning of spring when they were starting to bloom.

2. It’s a Nikon.

I don’t really care about the brand. It’s just that my dad already has 3 lenses. I could save so much money by using those instead of buying new ones. He left one in the Philippines for cleaning. The two I kidnapped from him have are: NIKKOR NC 24mm 1:2.8 and  NIKKOR 105mm 1:2.5. The F2 and the lenses of my dad were all made in Japan. Mine (lens and body) were made in Thailand. I kinda miss seeing “Made in Japan” on my electronics. Most were like that back when I was a wee little girl.

Currently, most of my photos consist of my figures. The plan was to have one each weekend but last Saturday was taken up by a family photo shoot. It was really, really cold so we only had a few shots in the Halifax Public Gardens. Hope to have a figure shoot this Saturday though ^_^v

13 thoughts on “*Click* *Click* : My Nikon Cameras

  1. Hahaha! I just spent the last hour looking at your photography. You have a keen eye, a sense for the subtle shadow, and a definite feeling for balance. Nice, looking forward to more…:-)

  2. DSLRs are expensive. My Nikon took a chunk out of my savings but it was worth it. I saved up for it anyway XD But like I mentioned, it’s price tag was part of the reason why I chose it ^_^

    I don’t need a very powerful camera but it still needs to work well, which it does ^_^ I’m very happy with it. It was also cheaper by a hundred dollars from the Rebel XS, 300 from the XSi… and as far as I know (correct me if I’m wrong), the XS is the cheapest DSLR of Canon.

  3. Nice Camera youve got there!
    Smart move to choose the Camera of the same brand as your fathers lenses^^
    Is the poor guy now stuck with 1 lens in the Philippines?

    I hope youll post that guide! I still need to learn so much about the right use of a camera….And mine is only a point and shoot ^^;;

  4. He doesn’t use the camera now that he has his point and shoot Canon. Mostly because having the pics developed and printed costs money and time XD

    So yay for me ^_^ I get 2 lens. Hihi.

    Oh, the guide is an aperture guide for different kinds of lighting ^^ I’ll probably do a “how I take pics” article someday but I really wouldn’t call it a guide XD It’s just how I intuitively take pics (_^_^)a

    I wouldn’t mind just having a point and shoot but I really wanted the depth that pictures taken with DSLRs have. So I saved up and got the D40. I hear that it’s a really good starter DSLR. So far I agree ^_^v

  5. For Nikon, the D40 is a great starter DSLR ^_^ It’s the one I have. For Canon it would be the Rebel… XS I believe. Just research and compare the features. The Nikon D40 is the cheapest.

    You might have to research on the other models too in case you decide to eventually upgrade as well as lens compatibility. I wasn’t really planning on getting more lens than what the D40 came with but yay for old lens.

    Whichever you choose, you’ll have to stick to that brand because of lens compatibility.

Leave a Reply

